Danny Boyle gets BFI Fellowship

September 29th, 2010

Danny Boyle is to receive a British Film Institute Fellowship.

The Oscar-winning director - whose new movie '127 Hours' closes this year's London Film Festival - has been bestowed with the accolade, previously given to Ridley Scott, Sir Michael Caine and Clint Eastwood, among others, in a move he admits he is "shocked and flattered" by.

The British filmmaker said: "A significant helping of humility is called for in the face of this honour and that is not difficult considering those awarded it before.

"I am shocked, flattered and delighted to receive the Fellowship on behalf of everyone who has helped me make the films, the successful ones and the not so successful ones, and on behalf of all runts in every litter."

Boyle will be presented with the Fellowship at a special ceremony in Jerwood Hall, London, on October 27.

Meanwhile, the shortlist for the Best Film Award, to be announced at the London Film Festival, has been unveiled, with Boyle's '127 Hours' among those nominated.

Other films listed included Darren Aronofsky's 'Black Swan' - which has been tipped for Oscar success - and 'The King's Speech' starring Helena Bonham Carter and Colin Firth.

Chair of the jury Patricia Clarkson admitted the shortlist showcased some of the most "diverse" films around.

She said: "It's an honour to be on such a prestigious Film jury, and a pleasure to be judging a shortlist which showcases such a diverse range of films from some of the most exciting filmmakers around."

The winner will be announced on October 27.

Shortlist for the BFI Best Film Award 2010:

'127 Hours' - Danny Boyle

'Another Year' - Mike Leigh

'Archipelago' - 'Joanna Hogg

'Black Swan' - Darren Aronofsky

'How I Ended This Summer' - Alexei Popogrebsky

'The King's Speech' - Tom Hooper

'Meek's Cut-Off' - Kelly Reichardt

'Never Let Me Go' - Mark Romanek

'Of Gods and Men' - Xavier Beauvois

'The Sleeping Beauty' - Catherine Breillat

'Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives' - Apitchatpong Weerasethakul