The King's Speech leads BAFTA nominations

January 18th, 2011

'The King's Speech' leads the way at this year's BAFTA Awards with 14 nominations.

The Tom Hooper-directed film - about stammering British monarch King George VI - is up for Best Film and Best Director, while its star Colin Firth is widely tipped to pick up the accolade for Best Actor.

Colin's co-star Helena Bonham Carter is up for Best Supporting Actress for her role as George's wife, the Queen Mother Elizabeth, and will take on 'The Fighter' star Amy Adams, Barbara Hershey for 'Black Swan', 'Another Year' actress Lesley Manville and Miranda Richardson for 'Made In Dagenham'.

'The King's Speech' is up against 'Black Swan', 'Inception', 'The Social Network' and 'True Grit' in the Best Film category, while Colin will take on 'Biutiful' star Javier Bardem, 'True Grit' actor Jeff Bridges, 'The Social Network's Jesses Eisenberg and '127 Hours' leading man James Franco in a bid to be named Best Actor.

As well as being up for Best Film, 'Black Swan' was given a further 11 nominations including Best Actress for its star Natalie Portman, while Darren Aronofsky is in the running for Best Director.

Natalie goes up against 14-year-old Hailee Steinfeld for 'True Grit', 'The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo' star Noomi Rapace, Annette Bening and Julianne Moore - who both starred in 'The Kids Are All Right' - in the Best Actress category.

'The Fighter' actor Christian Bale, 'The Social Network's Andrew Garfield, 'The Kids Are All Right' star Mark Ruffalo, 'The King's Speech Actor' Geoffrey Rush and the late Pete Postlethwaite - who starred in 'The Town' - are all in the running to be named Best Supporting Actor.

As was previously announced, Andrew Garfield, Gemma Arterton, Aaron Johnson, Emma Stone and Tom Hardy will fight it out for the Rising Star Award, which is voted for by the public.

The BAFTA Awards take place at London's Royal Opera House on February 13.

The full list of nominations for the 2011 BAFTA Awards:

Best Film:

'Black Swan'

'True Grit'


'The King's Speech'

'The Social Network'

Best Director:

Darren Aronofsky - 'Black Swan'

David Fincher - 'The Social Network'

Tom Hooper - 'The King's Speech'

Christopher Nolan - 'Inception'

Danny Boyle - '127 Hours'

Best Actor:

Jesse Eisenberg - 'The Social Network'

Colin Firth - 'The King's Speech'

James Franco - '127 Hours'

Javier Bardem - 'Biutiful'

Jeff Bridges - 'True Grit'

Best Actress:

Annette Bening - 'The Kids Are All Right'

Julianne Moore - 'The Kids Are All Right'

Noomi Rapace - 'The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo'

Natalie Portman - 'Black Swan'

Hailee Steinfeld - 'True Grit'

Best Supporting Actor:

Christian Bale - 'The Fighter'

Pete Postlethwaite - 'The Town'

Andrew Garfield - 'The Social Network'

Mark Ruffalo - 'The Kids Are All Right'

Geoffrey Rush - 'The King's Speech'

Best Supporting Actress:

Amy Adams - 'The Fighter'

Helena Bonham Carter - 'The King's Speech'

Barbara Hershey - 'Black Swan'

Lesley Manville - 'Another Year'

Miranda Richardson - 'Made in Dagenham'

Outstanding British Film:

'127 Hours'

'Another Year'

'Four Lions'

'The King's Speech'

'Made In Dagenham'

Outstanding debut by a British writer, director or producer:

'The Arbor' - Clio Bernard (director), Tracy O'Riordan (producer)

'Exit Through The Gift Shop' - Banksy (director), Jaimie D'Cruz (producer)

'Four Lions' - Chris Morris (director/writer)

'Monster' - Gareth Edwards (director/writer)

Best Foreign Language Film:

'Biutiful' - Mexico/Spain

'The Secret in Their Eyes' - Argentina

'The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo' - Sweden

'I Am Love' - Italy

'Of Gods and Men' - France

Best Animated Feature Film:

'Toy Story 3'

'How To Train Your Dragon'

'Despicable Me'

Best Original Screenplay:

'Black Swan' - Mark Heyman, Andres Heinz, John McLaughlin

'The Fighter' - Scott Silver, Paul Tamasy, Eric Johnson

'Inception' - Christopher Nolan

'The Kids are All Right' - Lisa Cholodenko, Stuart Blumberg

'The King's Speech' - David Seidler

Best Adapted Screenplay:

'127 Hours' - Danny Boyle, Simon Beaufoy

'The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo' - Rasmus Heisterberg, Nikolaj Arcel

'The Social Network' - Aaron Sorkin

'Toy Story 3' - Michael Arndt

'True Grit' - Joel Coen, Ethan Coen

Best Original Score:

'127 Hours' - AR Rahman

'Alice in Wonderland' - Danny Elfman

'How To Train Your Dragon' - John Powell

'Inception' - Hans Zimmer

'The King's Speech' - Alexandre Desplat

Rising Star Award:

Gemma Arterton

Andrew Garfield

Tom Hardy

Aaron Johnson

Emma Stone