Black Swan dominates Critics' Choice Movie Awards

December 13th, 2010

'Black Swan' has scooped 12 nominations at the 16th annual Critics' Choice Movie Awards.

The Darren Aronofsky-directed movie - which features Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis as ballet rivals, and is considered an early frontrunner for Oscar success - beat both 'The King's Speech' and 'True Grit', which managed 11 nominations each.

'Black Swan' has gained nods in the Best Picture category as well as Best Actress, Best Supporting Actress and Best Director.

Others fighting out for the Best Picture award include Danny Boyle's '127 Hours', Mark Wahlberg's forthcoming movie 'The Fighter', Christopher Nolan's 'Inception', 'The King's Speech', 'The Town', 'The Social Network', 'Toy Story 3', 'True Grit' and 'Winter's Bone'.

British actress Chloe Moretz has been nominated twice for her acting skills in the Best Young Actor/Actress category for her roles in 'Let Me In' and 'Kick-Ass'.

Mike Leigh's 'Another Year' was among the nominees for Best Original Screenplay alongside 'The King's Speech', 'Black Swan', 'The Fighter', 'The Kids Are All Right' and 'Inception'.

The winners will be announced at the Hollywood Palladium in Los Angeles on January 14, 2011.

Partial list of nominees for the 16th annual Critics' Choice Movie Awards:

Best Picture

'127 Hours'

'Black Swan'

'The Fighter'


'The King's Speech'

'The Social Network'

'The Town'

'Toy Story 3'

'True Grit'

'Winter's Bone'

Best Actor

Jeff Bridges, 'True Grit'

Robert Duvall, 'Get Low'

Jesse Eisenberg, 'The Social Network'

Colin Firth, 'The King's Speech'

James Franco, '127 Hours'

Ryan Gosling, 'Blue Valentine'

Best Actress

Annette Bening, 'The Kids Are All Right'

Nicole Kidman, 'Rabbit Hole'

Jennifer Lawrence, 'Winter's Bone'

Natalie Portman, 'Black Swan'

Noomi Rapace, 'The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo'

Michelle Williams, 'Blue Valentine'

Best Supporting Actor

Christian Bale, 'The Fighter'

Andrew Garfield, 'The Social Network'

Jeremy Renner, 'The Town'

Sam Rockwell, 'Conviction'

Mark Ruffalo, 'The Kids Are All Right'

Geoffrey Rush, 'The King's Speech'

Best Supporting Actress

Amy Adams, 'The Fighter'

Helena Bonham Carter, 'The King's Speech'

Mila Kunis, 'Black Swan'

Melissa Leo, 'The Fighter'

Hailee Steinfeld, 'True Grit'

Jacki Weaver, 'Animal Kingdom'

Best Young Actor/Actress

Elle Fanning, 'Somewhere'

Jennifer Lawrence, 'Winter's Bone'

Chloe Grace Moretz, 'Let Me In'

Chloe Grace Moretz, 'Kick-Ass'

Kodi Smit-McPhee, 'Let Me In'

Hailee Steinfeld, 'True Grit'

Best Director

Darren Aronofsky, 'Black Swan'

Danny Boyle, '127 Hours'

Joel Coen & Ethan Coen, 'True Grit'

David Fincher, 'The Social Network'

Tom Hooper, 'The King's Speech'

Christopher Nolan, 'Inception'

Best Original Screenplay

'Another Year' Mike Leigh

'Black Swan' Mark Heyman, Andres Heinz and John McLaughlin

'The Fighter' Scott Silver, Paul Tamasy and Eric Johnson (Story by Keith Dorrington, Paul Tamasy and Eric Johnson)

'Inception' Christopher Nolan

'The Kids Are All Right' Lisa Cholodenko and Stuart Blumberg

'The King's Speech' David Seidler

Best Adapted Screenplay

'127 Hours' Simon Beaufoy and Danny Boyle

'The Social Network' Aaron Sorkin

'The Town' Ben Affleck, Peter Craig and Sheldon Turner

'Toy Story 3' Michael Arndt (Story by John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton and Lee Unkrich)

'True Grit' Joel Coen and Ethan Coen

'Winter's Bone' Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini