Jessie J and Demi Lovato for "Mortal Instruments" soundtrack

July 3rd, 2013

Jessie J and Demi Lovato will feature on the soundtrack for 'The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones.'

The British singer has recorded a track called 'Magnetic', which will accompany the release of the new young adult fantasy thriller starring Lily Collins, while Lovato will contribute a song called 'Heart By Heart'.

According to MTV News, other tracks recorded for the film include DJ and producer Zedd's 'Into The Lair'; rock band AFI's '17 Crimes (LA Riots Remix)'; and a collaboration from indie pop band He Is We and Owl City, titled 'All About Us'.

The film - based on Cassandra Clare's young adult novel series, 'The Mortal Instruments' - is about a young girl named Clary Fray (Collins), who discovers she is a part of a secret race called shadowhunters, who possess special powers.

Clary is joined by love interest Jace, played by Jamie Campbell Bower, on a journey to find her missing mother and must learn how to use her powers as she encounters evil beings along the way.

Screen Gems and Republic Records will release the soundtrack in stores and via digital download on August 20th.

'Mortal Instruments' will debut in the US on August 21, and the UK on August 23.