Brad Pitt's The Tree of Life awarded Palme d'Or

Movie Description(Click Here To Hide)
Hollywood heavyweights Brad Pitt and Sean Penn star in this 2011 drama which depicts life through the eyes of an 11-year-old boy during the 1950s. Jack (Penn) is one of three brothers in a family where the mother and father each contend for allegiance. As a child, he sees the world as his mother does- through the eyes of his soul. To Jack, his mother represents the way of love and mercy, whereas their father tries to teach them the world’s way of putting oneself first. His view of the world is abruptly changed, however, when he first witnesses sickness, suffering and death.
May 23rd, 2011

'The Tree Of Life' has been awarded the Palme d'Or at this year's 64th Cannes Film Festival.

The Terence Malick movie - starring Brad Pitt and Sean Penn - picked up the top prize at the closing ceremony last night (22.05.11) after receiving the majority of votes from the jury led by Robert De Niro and including Uma Thurman and Jude Law, despite being booed by a section of the crowd at its first screening.

Although it was not a unanimous choice, Robert revealed the film had the backing of the majority of the jury.

He said: "It had the size, the importance, the intention, whatever you want to call it, that seemed to fit the prize. Most of us felt the movie was terrific."

Kirsten Dunst received the Best Actress honour for her role in 'Melancholia' directed by shamed filmmaker Lars Von Triers who was banned from the festival for sympathizing with Hitler and the Nazis.

Other winners included Best Director for Nicolas Winding Refn for the Ryan Gosling movie 'Drive', Best Actor to Jean Dujardin for his turn in 'The Artist', while the Dardennes Brothers and Nuri Bilge Ceylan shared the Grand Prix for their films, 'The Kid With A Bike' and 'Once Upon A Time In Anatolia'.

The Jury Prize went to 'Polisse', while the Camera D'Or - for best first film - went to 'Las Acacias'.

Full list of winners for the 64th Cannes Film Festival

Palme d'Or (Golden Palm): 'The Tree of Life' by Terrence Malick (United States)

Grand Prize: Shared between 'The Kid with the Bike' by Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne (Belgium) and 'Once Upon a Time in Anatolia' by Nuri Bilge Ceylan (Turkey)

Jury Prize: 'Poliss' by Maiwenn (France)

Best Director: Nicolas Winding Refn for 'Drive' (Denmark)

Best Actor: Jean Dujardin, 'The Artist' (France)

Best Actress: Kirsten Dunst, 'Melancholia' (film from Denmark, actress from United States)

Best Screenplay: Joseph Cedar, 'Footnote' (Israel)

Camera d'Or (first-time director): 'Las Acacias' by Pablo Giorgelli (Argentina)

Best short film: 'Country' by Maryna Vroda (Ukraine)